The 2018 Malaysian General Election, formally known as the 14th Malaysian General Election, was held on Wednesday, 9 May 2018. In an unprecedented victory, the Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition, which had been the country’s federal Opposition prior to the election, won a simple majority in the Dewan Rakyat together with the Sabah Heritage Party (WARISAN). The election heralded the first regime change in Malaysia’s history, as the erstwhile ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition, which had enjoyed an uninterrupted reign over the country since Malaya’s independence in 1957, was voted out of power.

Image licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license by Derkommander0916

PH’s leader, Mahathir Mohamad, was sworn in as Malaysia’s Prime Minister on 10 May, a day after the election; at 93 years of age, Mahathir is also the world’s oldest head of government.

The work of Global Bersih continues in supporting the new Government to develop and support reforms.  31/10/2018